Looking back through my blog: My 7 Links

Recently, an fellow Aussie blogger, travel enthusiast and red head – Vicki Potts @redheadedtravel (http://redheadedtravels.com) – nominated me to join in the #My7links project. My first thought was that I must have been living under a rock – as this was the first time I had heard of this project. The second thought was that I was impressed – Vicki had been paying attention and knew I was a sucker for these ‘challenges’.

Not one to rush into things, I had to mull this over for a couple of days, but I think I’ve finally managed to come up with my list. So here they are – my 7 links. What do you think?

My most beautiful post: It’s hard to think of my posts as ‘beautiful’, but on browsing through them, I will put this one forward to you: ‘Moments in Time.’ I published this not long ago, but I actually wrote it years ago. I found it when I was reading an old journal a few weeks back, and was a wee bit impressed at how I wrote back then. After some tweaking, I decided to share it on my blog. It’s about those beautiful moments in everyday life, that we often miss unless we are watching for them.

My most popular post of all time: (well – within the 11 months this blog has been in existence) is What do you do to maintain your mental health? There is no competition. With over 370 hits in the first week, I was blown away by its success – and it was all thanks to some kind soul profiling it on Fiveminute55 cool things for your 5-minute break! I actually have no idea who, how, why…you get the picture. But I am very thankful – especially because it was a post on depression and stress, a subject close to my heart.

My most controversial post: I don’t think I’m a controversial blogger. I tend to focus on things that will either lift people up, or make them think…along with the other quirky, artsy, daggy, self-deprecating stuff I may blog about. But there is one post that jumps to mind because it stimulated a lot of discussion – some of the best I have seen as a result of something I have written. ‘New Experiences at work – Drug and Alcohol test anyone?‘ was a post where I shared my encounter of being random drug tested at work. The discussions that followed were around the infringement of rights, workplace bullying tactics, and the change in company policies throughout the years.

My most helpful post: apart from What do you do to maintain your mental health? would possibly be the post I wrote on my experiences in dealing with Bullying in the Workplace.

A post whose success surprises me: ‘I’d rather regret the things that I have done than the things that I have not done. Lucille Ball‘ A simple post, referring to an awesome quote I had never heard before. It seemed to strike a chord with lots of people. I’m glad I could share it with you all, and that you liked it as much as I did.

A post I feel didn’t get the attention it deserves: I think it was ‘In the grip of fear‘.  I can understand though, as the subject (domestic violence) is something most people still struggle to talk about in this day and age.

The post I am most proud of: This is REALLY hard! I’m going to go for this one: ‘The greatest degree of inner tranquility comes from the development of love and compassion – Dalai Lama XIV‘. I chose this one because it’s one of the first times I really let loose and shared my own views on an issue I am passionate about – immigration, multiculturalism and compassion.

So that’s it. What do you think?

Oh, before I forget – I better nominate some ‘victims’ huah huah huah…so over to you (if you choose to accept your challenge:

@StuStoryteller,

@hajraks (you wanted something to write about!),

@AckermanRoy and

@LaliaVoce

 

17 thoughts on “Looking back through my blog: My 7 Links

  1. I remember all these blog posts. I loved the one about the Dalai Lama, was shocked by the Experiences at Work one, and found the Lucille one both entertaining and interesting, but my favorite was also “Moments in Time.”

    • You are so special. You have been here from the almost beginning! I need to get my butt into gear and read your posts more – cause I love them and I feel guilty. Bring on unemployment and reading time! Thank you Penelope. x Love you.

    • You are too beautiful and special. Thanks Martha! I’m hoping my impending ‘unemployment’ will allow me the time I want to payback to all of my lovely readers as I feel I have neglected you all as many of you have awesome blogs I need to reconnect with. x hugs!

  2. This was a good challenge I bet! It’s always great to be able to look back at what we’ve written and figure out how we feel about them. However it’s quite hard to choose favorites isn’t it? Good one Janine! 🙂

  3. I accept your challenge. I am a little pressed today, since I just left morning prayers- have a full day of client satisfaction challenges- need to return for evening prayers- and then to eat and drink (25 hours after the start)…Tomorrow is not much better. Hopefully Thursday, I can respond properly. (And, Friday, my youngest come home for 9 days!)….

  4. This is great, Janine! I always plan to take time to read through peoples’ entire blogs, but of course, that never actually happens. What a great way to get just a little taste of what means the most to you. 🙂

  5. Hi Janine,

    That’s an interesting challenge and it looked like it took time to think through each one 🙂 I can’t wait to see the posts from the others you have nominated!

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Pingback: Seven Minutes in Heaven (#My7Links) « bornstoryteller

  7. Pingback: My Seven Deadly Links… | Hajra Kvetches!

Leave a Reply

