Monday Photo-day: Experimenting with Black & White

Some of the most stunning photos I have ever seen have been those that have captured a moment, a person, a shadow…something in black and white.

There is just something about the light and shade, the raw-ness, the simplicity of it all.

Here are some photos I took over the weekend, experimenting with black and white photography with my Canon 500D SLR and 2 lens – the Canon Zoom Lens 55-250mm, and the standard 18-55mm lens.

Bread & Dukkha, Monk Brewery - Fremantle

Monk Brewery

Wood & Wine

At the pub

If you are interested in being featured in Monday Photo-day, let me know! You don’t have to be a professional. You just need to love photography, have taken the pics yourself, and have a eye for what is beautiful in this world we live in.

Have a great week.

Janine

x

6 thoughts on “Monday Photo-day: Experimenting with Black & White

  1. B&W eliminates the distraction of color. I think your third and fourth images are the best ones. You might try cropping number three from the right to tighten up on the lovely wine glasses (and the wood textures).

    I love B&W. In fact I shoot nothing but B&W film with my 35mm SLRs. Then develop and scan the film myself. Keep it up and you’ll be hooked forever.

  2. Love them and agree that your third and fourth images are stunning. You seem to work well with B&W. Reminds me of when my son and I visited Pompeii and he decided to take all black and white photos. I was resistant, we even quarreled about it, and in the end, they would have been better in color. He’s an excellent photographer but for black and white photography, he’d have to be outstanding to catch the true contrasts and shading.

Leave a Reply

