I’d rather regret the things that I have done than the things that I have not done. Lucille Ball

Cropped screenshot of Lucille Ball from the tr...

Image via Wikipedia

Such a wonderful quote from the one and only Ms Lucille Ball, an awesome, zany red-head. I stumbled upon it the other day, and it really struck a chord with me.

In hindsight, this is something I didn’t realise until I actually started living, which sounds easier than it actually is for some of us.

I used to always use the excuse of not wanting to regret anything on why I didn’t get out there and experience life…It was also possibly due to the fear of the unknown, and the ‘what if’ scenarios that constantly haunted my over-analytical brain.

Thank god I’m less highly strung and analytical then I used to be. I don’t want to imagine what I would have missed out on if I hadn’t started ‘seizing the day’. Which leads me to the catch phrase of my last few years – Carpe Diem.

23 thoughts on “I’d rather regret the things that I have done than the things that I have not done. Lucille Ball

  1. Hey Janine,

    Haven’t come across this quote before but I am liking it. I just read a post that talked about not regretting at all and then I read this. But then, though regret makes us aware of what we’ve missed out and sometimes of what we’ve done wrong; it somehow makes us dwell too much in the past. And maybe stuck in it too, to some extent. Yes, but if we do want to regret, then regretting what I’ve done makes more sense!

  2. One of my most recent posts was on the same thought! Lucille, of course, said it much more succinctly, and probably more grace too. 🙂

    It’s hard in the short term to step outside the comfort zone. It’s harder still in the long term not to have, and wonder what life might’ve been like otherwise.

  3. Great quote to share. Too many of us worry about the ramifications, too many save their dreams to get “around to” one day…
    All it takes it one blip- and it’s all gone. Too many wrecks, too many close calls. I learned my own version years ago:
    Go for the brass ring- you may not get that next turn on the merry go round.

  4. Great idea to share. I remember someone asking me what people would say about me at MY funeral. I also had a boss who once said “I’d rather ask for forgiveness than permission”. Here’s to living.

  5. What a great quote and it fits perfectly with seizing the day. Like Roy said, it can all be over in a second. I play it way too safe even though I go for it a lot more than I used to. Thanks for sharing, Janine – – got me thinking.

  6. This really struck a chord with me as it is one of my favourite quotes, plus I love “Carpe Diem” too. Sadly, my youngest brother Steve died at the age of 49, which reinforced my view that you should always make the most of today, in case tomorrow never comes.

  7. i knew someone who, as she livd her last few days, expressed the fesr of dying because there was so much more she wanted to do. I never want to feel that way. How about you?

  8. Ha ha. . .you didn’t write this one just for me, did you?! Excellent quote and, how did you get to be less highly-strung and analytical? Am going to remember this quote and carpe the hell out of diem.
    Josie x

  9. I agree, it is a great quote but İ prefer seize the day. İt has been my mantra for the past few years too Janine. Too much time can be wasted in regrets.

  10. Hi Janine –

    Seizing the moment is how I’ve looked at the phrase. The saying crosses all cultural barriers; all people, places, and things. It’s really about making the most of what we’re dealt with at the time we’re playing a particular “game” in life. I like it. 🙂

  11. Sometimes a good quote like that can say everything. Unfortunately, for many older people, the opposite is true. Regrets for what was not done can sour old age more than any aches and illnesses. So, as you say, carpe diem.

  12. Pingback: Looking back through my blog: My 7 Links | Reflections from a Red Head

Leave a Reply

