Celebrating the Red-Headedness

Being a red-head can be a curse or a blessing.

For most of my life, I thought it was a curse. Pale skin, freckles, red-hair and blood that is extremely tasty to mosquitos. Oh and the constant, incessant teasing from people. I do recall being followed down the street by groups of boys commenting on how ‘ugly’ red headed girls were, and how they would never go out with one. This also happened on the bus, in the cinema, in night clubs…pretty much everywhere. I even got it from the female species. How I loved being heckled by so-called ‘bronzed, blonde Aussie goddesses’.

Well, a few years ago I decided that enough was enough. I decided that I liked my hair colour – and so did everyone else, as why else would everyone be dying their hair red (even the blondes). I also decided that I was pretty. As one friend recently put it ‘the guys were always eyeing off Janine and she never noticed or thought it true. But it was true!’ Thanks Karina : ) Seriously, I never did notice!Β 

So, today I celebrate my red-headedness.Β 

What would you like to celebrate about yourself today?

Get your groove on and celebrate

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Celebrating the Red-Headedness

  1. Janine your red hair is a part of who you are and you should be applauded for embracing your inner red goddess!!!! I too had been teased about personal apperance for ever and for a long time i hated the person I was. but these days with some inner searching, great girlfriends and ALOT of wine I love who I am, I love my friends, I love my family (well some of them) and most of all i love my life! Kudos to you babe!

  2. Janine,

    We can be so cruel when we are kids and I bet somewhere along the line I did say something myself, but do I remember NO. I wonder if we were all jealous of your hair color and skin? I bet in someway the boys were thinking “love that red hair”, but then their girls who are friends were saying how bad this or that out of jealousy. LOL! Who knows!

    Glad you have realized you are gorgeous the way you are!

  3. Hi Janine,

    … to be honest I really like your red-head, pale skin, freckles… I found it truly attractive, so I really don’t understand those boys you were talking in your post πŸ˜‰

    I would like to celebrate being healthy and having the energy to put a smile in my face!

    Thank you for you post, it made me remind that it is great to be alive although I don’t have as much hair as I wished (even it was red) :-)))!

  4. Hmmm. If we say we don’t like it, will it set off your temper? πŸ™‚
    (Just had to tie the two last posts together! I have always been partial to redheads- since the first grade. Except when my hair turns red in the summer- but now that is less of a problem, grey wins!)

  5. Your red hair is beautiful, Janine. I am so glad you are embracing your natural beauty.

    I always had very dark brown hair and I thought I wanted to be blond! Luckily, I never bleached my hair. I also learned to embrace my natural hair color.
    It is very ironic that my hair started turning grey at a young age (blond???) and I started to use hair coloring to make it dark brown again.
    My husband recently convinced me to let my hair go “natural”, so now I have learned to embrace the grey.

  6. Hi Janine: you know how I feel about Redheads. Stupid boys. You are a beautiful woman, and it’s not the parts that make you you. Doodeyheads, the jealous ones.

    Hmmm…what do I celebrate today? Being alive and happy. πŸ™‚

  7. You are beautiful…no matter what they say ~~~~
    Boys will be boys, they will say the meanest of things and regret it when the hot red head is with someone else! You are a beautiful person and a beautiful writer, that’s all that counts!

  8. As a fellow red head, I celebrate the RED with you. It was Anne of Green Gables who gave me permission to love my redness. She was my hero. Anne was a red headed orphan adopted by an older couple back in the early 1900’s Newfoundland…as written by Lucy Maude Montgomery. The first time Anne goes to school and is called “carrots” by Gilbert, she breaks her writing slate over his head. I loved Anne. She was creative, unique, imaginative and empowered.

    So glad you are celebrating…what I’m celebrating…letting go!

    • Oh I do remember reading Anne of Green Gables when I was little…and watching Pippy Longstocking, what with her long red plaits and all! And then there was my Raggedy Anne doll (with Raggedy Andy!).

  9. Hi Janine,

    You are beautiful and the red-hair makes you special! Celebrate, celebrate, celebrate πŸ™‚

    I am celebrating “following my heart” and “stop getting in my way”!

  10. Life is so funny! I was a dishwater blonde most of my life, kind of an indescript blonde-brown mashup. I would have sold my soul to be a redhead!

    It’s funny and good how we grow into ourselves at last. πŸ™‚

  11. Janine, You certainly should celebrate your red-headedness. You are one of a unique breed as most people in this world are dark haired, or fair that fades with age. Redheads are made fun of because there are so few of them rather than because they are ugly. Quite the reverse. Real redheads are gorgeous! Just think of all the pseudo blondes out there – all those dark haired women trying to be something they are not. Red heads can be truly themselves while many of those tanned, blonde beauties look like carbon copies of each other.

  12. Definitely don’t dwell on stuff that was said to you by other kids when you were a kid. Kids are nasty and such comments are often fuelled by jealousy. They don’t like to see people secure in the way they look because they are insecure themselves. It’s the same with how they treat the smart kid – a bad case of tall poppy syndrome.

    I’m not a redhead but I still think they rock πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

