“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” Berthold Auerbach

Music has such an amazing effect on me when I let actually relax and let it work it’s way into my body and brain. I love the feeling of the bass throbbing through my body. I love the liberating feeling of singing loudly to no one. I love the surprise the iPod brings as it shuffles the songs and delivers the next surprise…and then the memories that come flooding back with that song.

Today I found myself driving along the highway, sun shining, blue sky, car windows down, hair blowing madly around my head, music blaring, singing at the top of my lungs to songs I hadn’t heard in ages. I felt happy and I felt free.

Fall to Pieces, Velvet Revolver. As the name of the song says, it’s about someone falling to pieces after a relationship ending. This song stuck a chord with me at a time when I thought Denis and I were going to break up. I literally felt as if my life was falling to pieces…and every time I would live the gym in winter to go home, I would play this song loudly, sing, and cry, cry, cry.

With or Without You, U2. This always reminds me of my last night of my first trip overseas. I was in Singapore and had finally been given a taste of what I had always wanted – travel – and I loved it more than I had imagined. I did not want to go home to my miserable life. I was in a club called Chimes with a good friend, new friends, new experiences such as a dentist chair in the middle of a club where people were getting drinks poured down their throats, cool music and life…I was having the time of my life…so I cried.

Nights In White Satin, Moody Blues. This song was chosen by my Mum to play at my Grandad’s funeral (her Dad). Apparently he had loved the song, and it was then that I realised I had never known he had actually liked music. Normally, Nights in White Satin touches me – the peaks and troughs that bring with it a change in intensity. But at a funeral…I believe we all cried.

Grace, Jeff Buckley. This song, and Jeff’s voice (RIP), touches my soul. If I am happy, it makes me feel happier. If I am sad, it comforts me. Now I realise how depressed I actually was in my late teens, and I credit Jeff and his music for getting me through. It is such a shame that he is no longer with us – but for the time he was, he provided us with such incredible beauty.

Are you a music lover?

What songs have touched your lives?

30 thoughts on ““Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” Berthold Auerbach

  1. Hi Janine: great post. Music is very important, more than reading (and reading is important to me). I love the idea of “Nights in White Satin”.. what an amazing choice to play.
    “Imagine” is one of those songs for me, and almost always one that pops up when asked this type of question. I really like Buckley’s rendition of Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen. Old Friends, from Bookends by Simon & Garfunkle. All Good Gifts from Godspell (I sang that part, and it’s touched me deeply)…I could go on. I have so many CDs, cassettes and Vinyl.

      • Stu or Stuart. Whatever anyone is comfortable with.
        I was into Cohen for a while, then heard this.. just simply beautiful. So many songs for so many different times in our lives. Right now, I can’t get The Kinks “Around the Dial” out of my head.

  2. Love this piece and love, love, love music. Almost all music. If you ask me which songs have touched my life, I’d have to ask “to what end.” It would depend on where I was – psychologically, chronologically, geographically – in my life. Different songs have sustained me in different periods, and when I hear them I am transported back to those times. That’s almost always a good thing.

    BTW, do you know your steering wheel is on the wrong side? You might want to get that fixed.

  3. Stop stealing my playlist! (I don’t have an iPod or use one, but my CD’s play incessantly. I can’t find a good radio station anymore- they are all geared to the lowest common denominator.)
    Thanks for sharing the thoughts BEHIND the songs (your thoughts, not the author’s or the artist’s)

  4. Janine,

    I LOVE listening to music while I work at clients homes, but I find when I’m home I can’t listen to it. Odd! I love all sorts of music and recently purchased Kyle Lowder’s album (he’s new and sings semi opera type of music & soothing was on Days of Our Lives years back).

  5. It had to be you- Harry Connick Jnr this was the song that we walked into our wedding reception to, Sing Sing Sing – Artie Shaw this song gets my feet tapping.
    I have an eclectic range of music so I can go from Classical to Big Band, Ella Fitzgerald to Kiss. I don’t like bands I like songs, and the songs can take on a different meaning depending on how I feel.

  6. Pingback: Music » “Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life …

  7. Oh we have such similar tastes in music. Though I listen to a lot of Indian music too. I was at a restaurant yesterday and my favorite song was being played; I don’t know why but I suddenly felt special; like the world knew I needed it to be played and like an excited lil girl I screamed out “That’s my favorite song”; actually went quite well with the crowd, they clapped for some reason. Music is always special to all!

  8. Janine, I can relate a lot to this post. Some music has the magic to evoke old emotions, memorable events, people, love lost and gained, and plain old nostalgia for another time. Some songs have me in tears. Others tear me apart for what has gone forever. Thanks for a lovely, post.

  9. Hi Janine, yes music has that effect on you… A soothing calming effect which makes you drift of all the worries that you have…
    Have a great Sunday:)

  10. I totally agree, Janine! I haven’t had enough music in my life lately!

    I don’t have a thorough music repertoire, but a song that really gets me through different moods is Damien Rice’s “The Blower’s Daughter.” Have you heard it? It can be calming, but also enlightening and inspiring to me.

      • Cannonball? Those are the two that got the most airplay here in the US. The whole CD is amazing. O wasn’t as well played, but still great.

      • Possibly…it’s bugging me now I’ll have to go investigate (it’s on the other PC in the ‘cold’ room…I’m sitting here by the fire under the doona trying to keep warm!).

  11. Doona?
    here are the cannonball lyrics:
    There’s still a little bit of your taste in my mouth
    There’s still a little bit of you laced with my doubt
    It’s still a little hard to say what’s going on

    There’s still a little bit of your ghost your witness
    There’s still a little bit of your face i haven’t kissed
    You step a little closer each day
    That I can´t say what´s going on

    Stones taught me to fly
    Love, it taught me to lie
    Life, it taught me to die
    So it’s not hard to fall
    When you float like a cannonball

    There’s still a little bit of your song in my ear
    There’s still a little bit of your words i long to hear
    You step a little closer to me
    So close that I can´t see what´s going on

    Stones taught me to fly
    Love taught me to lie
    Life taught me to die
    So its not hard to fall
    When you float like a cannon.

    Stones taught me to fly
    Love, it taught me to cry
    So come on courage, teach me to be shy
    ‘Cause its not hard to fall,
    And I don’t want to scare her
    Its not hard to fall
    And i don’t want to lose
    Its not hard to grow
    When you know that you just don’t know

    • Ah Aussie slang woops. Duvet / quilt I guess… the English call it a duvet I know that much.
      I’ll rest my tired brain and re-read the lyrics in the morning.
      I think it just came to me – volcano.

  12. Don’t hold yourself like that
    You’ll hurt your knees
    I kissed your mouth and back
    But that’s all I need
    Don’t build your world around volcanoes melt you down

    What I am to you is not real
    What I am to you you do not need
    What I am to you is not what you mean to me
    You give me miles and miles of mountains
    And I’ll ask for the sea

    Don’t throw yourself like that
    In front of me
    I kissed your mouth your back
    Is that all you need?
    Don’t drag my love around volcanoes melt me down

    What I am to you is not real
    What I am to you you do not need
    What I am to you is not what you mean to me
    You give me miles and miles of mountains
    And I’ll ask for what I give to you
    Is just what i’m going through
    This is nothing new
    No no just another phase of finding what I really need
    Is what makes me bleed
    And like a new disease she’s still too young to treat
    Volcanoes melt me down
    She’s still too young
    I kissed your mouth
    You do not need me

Leave a Reply

