How to live before you die

I first watched this video about 10 months ago when I was dealing with the death of a family member, suffering from the return of my depression and generally searching for something…anything. This video of a speech given by Steve Jobs just hit me. It made me sit up and really think about life.

The video draws ‘from some of the most pivotal points in his life. Steve Jobs, chief executive officer and co-founder of Apple Computer and of Pixar Animation Studios, urged graduates to pursue their dreams and see the opportunities in life’s setbacks — including death itself — at the university’s 114th Commencement on June 12, 2005.’

It doesn’t matter what your opinion is of Steve Jobs…this speech is given by a man, a human being…and the message is one for us all.

Let me know your thoughts.

38 thoughts on “How to live before you die

  1. I love this video. We all can benefit from reminders of what we already know, stashed away and forget to apply when we most to. Hey, isn’t that what a good friend does for us? But only if they know too so they can remind us..

  2. Life happens, one day at a time and we need to know that nothing is wasted. His sense of humour is so cool. His vision is special and love or hate Apple – it has created a different world.
    I met one of the guys who worked with Apple when Jobs was fired – he said that when Jobs went so did he.
    And where would we be without Pixar – Nemo, Monsters Inc and so many other wonderful graphics.
    LOVE and LIVE is the whole message – Passion and Purpose is the only way to Perform. Thanks Janine for the reminder

    • No problems Roberta. Ah yes – where would we be without Apple and Pixar (esp since I’m a recent Apple convert – could only resist for so long), and one of my fave all time movies is Monsters Inc : )

  3. Jobs is such an inspiration! Thanks for reminding me of this video, Janine! I love when he says: “You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.” I hope I continue to have the courage that he does and that I continue following my intuition! =) And I hope you do too (even if it means that you leave your job and join us freelancers!) =)

    • Glad you liked seeing it again. I think it’s one of those hat should be watched every now and again for a nice reminder.
      I’m looking into freelancing this weekend. So much information – how did you ever find your way?!

      • Finally! =P Hehe! I just started with content-creating companies, then once I had some solid writing samples, I started looking for freelance clients in job ads! =) If you already have writing samples, then you’re one step ahead of the game. You can do it!!

  4. Janine,

    “Got to find what you love” LOVE this!
    “Love what you do”…so very true!

    His third story…truly hit home since yesterday my HS class lost a classmate too suddenly. Makes you want to tell your kids you love them, hug them, and more.

    Wonderful speech!

    • I’m sorry for the loss of a classmate Leona. I hope all is ok. I’m glad you liked the speech. Between the speech and your classmates passing I can imagine you would be thinking about a whole lot of stuff. You go and get lots of hugs now!

  5. I love this! My mother was diagnosed with cancer last year – only one year after her husband died from cancer and two years after her brother died from cancer. She was lucky. They were able to take it out and she is cancer free.

    It gives you a new perspective on life and enjoying it while you have it. The bad part is that she has very low self-worth. This saddens me. It means that she’s hiding in a corner until her time comes. Very sad.

    If only I could help her out of that corner to see the colors of life.

    Thank you,
    Tammy

    • I’m glad you liked it Tammy.

      It is hard to bring back that self worth. My Nan had that problem after her 1st bout as she got really depressed. This sounds bad, but she started drinking a little alcohol, eating a little chocolate, and going on a few drives along the coast…this then progressed to weekends away and then weeks. She started enjoying her life. I also think about my Mum as she was just cleared after 5 years. She should be happy but I feel she is a bit sad – for a number of reasons. I guess the stress of living with the threat off cancer hanging over your head can have that affect.

      Does you Mum have any interests, like movies, the beach, the countryside, birds, horses?

  6. My first computer was an Apple IIe and I thought it was the most wonderful contraption in the world! Interesting how he was chosen to speak at this graduation as he is evidence that the degree is not the education… great post and video, Janine!

  7. Over the past few months I have been “along for the ride” as a 5 month old passed away from cancer, a 47 year old passed from suicide and a 85 year old passed away from natural causes. In each life there is something to be learned from the journey. Steve Jobs is an inspiration and like the others whose journey I’ve followed, someone we can all learn a great deal from. T

    • Im sorry to hear you have had such a hard time of late Billye, but glad that you can look at it in a way that you can learn something from it. I think that really helps – I know it has certainly helped me with the grieving process and depression.

  8. Janine, This is a speech I really had to hear though it took me three tries to hear it in its entirety – every time, someone interrupted me. (Frustrating!) Finally, I was able to listen to it without distractions. It’s not only inspirational and motivating but a deeply personal message that we can all relate to. I never knew that much about Steve Jobs – apart from the headlines – so this was a great chance to get to know about him more. What I loved, among other things, was his complete disregard for education when he was young. I don’t know if you read Jennifer Gresham’s blog but she has a recent post called something like “The Great Educational Hoax” which deals with the subject of how much higher education helps or hinders.

    • Hi Penelope, Im glad you finally got to hear the whole thing. It is worth it when time and distractions allow. I will need to check out Jennifer’s blog. The topic sounds interesting. I know I have my views for and against higher education.

Leave a Reply

