How to create a movement

I’m currently on a 3 1/2 day course for work. I won’t go into what it’s about, apart from that it involves Project Office methodologies and that I should end up accredited! And in consideration of that, I do have an exam in the morning and I really shouldn’t be on the internet (especially because I have a head cold and I should be resting!).

Anyway, half way through day 1 the Facilitator, in an effort to pep up her ailing students, played the following You Tube video for us. I had actually already seen it but I had forgotten how good it was. I also hadn’t thought about using it within the context of what I do as a career (which I only realised 2 months ago that what I am doing now can actually be a real career!).

I hope you enjoy it – it made me smile, and it made me think again about what my perception of leadership was, and about how important ‘followers’ actually are in creating any kind of change!

9 thoughts on “How to create a movement

  1. Fantastic video. Full of good things. Especially noted, “First follower transforms a lone nut into a leader” and “Have the guts to be the first person to join in.” What also struck me were the me-too followers who joined in to follow the pack or out of fear of ridicule. Made me think what am I? A first follower definitely, but also a hold out who won’t join just because everyone else is.

Leave a Reply

