Monday Photo-Day: Playing with Colour

I love the colour red. And it’s not just because it’s my hair colour. I actually used to hate it. But suddenly, on one of my trips around Europe, I found myself drawn to everything red. At a bar on the beach in the HagueHolland, I fell in love with some amazing red couches…and suddenly there were red motifs everywhere.

And then I found myself buying a red car. It was actually meant to be blue – but the car I bought was sold on me…funny that…and I ended up with an even better model that was red. I adore that car and I love the colour.

And then I found myself drawn to taking photos with red in them. I found the striking shades and the play with colour fascinating.

The photo for this week is one I took at a Paul Dempsey concert at the Fly By Nightclub in Fremantle, Western Australia. Firstly, Paul is an amazing presence on stage – tall, dark, haunting. And then there is the awesome decor of the Fly By Nightclub. Quirky and arty to match the town it is located in, and it has these amazing red lamps hanging from the ceiling (as well as a large, freaky hand and a moon face!).

It was standing in the concert that I decided to whip out my iPhone and try taking some pics with the Hipstamatic iPhone application – my first jaunt into the iPhone Photography App area. The photo is dark, yes, but I love how the red is so prominent and striking amongst the darkness and shadow of the club.

13 thoughts on “Monday Photo-Day: Playing with Colour

  1. Love it! This would make a beatuiful full-canvas painting on a gallery wall, don’t you agree? It (you) have inspired me to make some red and black beads, I love the drama of that photo, I love red and I love the color black so instand draw to my eyes too. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love it! This would make a beatuiful full-canvas painting on a gallery wall, don’t you agree? It (you) have inspired me to make some red and black beads, I love the drama of that photo, I love red and I love the color black so instant draw to my eyes too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Loved the pic. It is so alive and haunting (in a nice way!) I have never been a fan of red but I suddenly like it after reading this. Will try out something red!

  4. Such a beautiful pic! I can empathize with the color phase you are going through. For me, it is Purple currently 🙂

  5. Hi Janine, from fellow Blog Challenge person. Love your photo above. I’m a big fan of red too. I adore the band the White Stripes since when they were together, their colors were red, white, and black 🙂 My late grandma was a red-head and I loved her fiery spirit. I put red highlights into my hair all of the time. Fun, fun, fun!

    • Now you mention it – I think it actually started with one of the White Stripes music videos! I was drawn to the red, black and then paleness of their skin. The are amazing (well – were : ) ).

  6. I too love the colour red. As a child when allowed to chose my own clothes I always come home with something red. The red in the photo creates a strong mood.

  7. Pingback: Monday Photo-day: A Tourist in Your Own Town « Reflections from a Red Head

Leave a Reply

