Versatile Bloggers are Us!

I have been awarded the “Versatile Blogger Award” from Thom Brown (his blog is ‘To Gyre and Gambol’). I was very surprised and flattered. Thank you Thom!

There are rules though. I have to now regift this award to seven others AND I need to say seven things about myself.  This doesn’t seem to hard, so here goes!

About me:

1. I miss my Nan, who passed last year. I try not to think about her, which is stupid, as she was incredibly important to me and I should. I think I’ve made myself so ridiculously busy that I don’t allow myself the time. I think they call this an epiphany?
2. I have an obsession with vampires – and I need to stress it is NOT ‘Twilight‘ related. My obsession started when Anne Rice wrote ‘Interview with the Vampire‘, and only continues. I admit I did read the ‘Twilight’ saga – and it wasn’t until the 4th and final book that I sat up and thought ‘Hello!’
3. My favourite TV show at the moment is ‘The Vampire Diaries‘ after my sister bought me Season 1 for Christmas. My partner and I really paced ourselves, spreading watching the episodes over 2 months…but now we are hanging for season 2 after the season 1 cliff-hanger, and it’s not out in Australia yet..damn it!
4. My favourite colour is red, although when I was younger I hated it, as red reminded me of how much I hated my red hair. Growing up as a red-head, I was always teased (as is the norm for red heads). I was also always told that due to having red hair, I could not wear ‘colour’ – i.e. red. I now adore red and realise that when people tell us red heads that we can’t wear colour, they are only displaying their envy of our awesome hair colour!
5. I wanted to be an archaeologist when I was young. I remembered this today, and got all excited by my childhood fantasy of exotic, dusty locations, tents, brushes, khaki, artefacts and mystery;
6. I just refinanced my mortgage. I swear there was more paperwork involved in this than in getting the actual mortgage the first time round. That’s it – done. I don’t want to see anymore paperwork, and I’ve had enough of banks.
7. My favourite male singer of all time is Jeff Buckley, and my favourite song of his is ‘Grace’. Indeed, his loss was way too soon. My Mum used to tease me and tell me his music was ‘music to slit your wrists too.’ I personally found he’s deep, haunting music therapeutic!

And now time for the winners!

I want to recognise the following bloggers – sharing the love as I’d like to put it – because they are all genuine, write from the heart, and have struck a personal chord with me at one time or another.

1. Adriene aka Sweepy Jean – Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World 3.0

2. Hajra Khatoon – Hajra Kvetches – The Blog

3. Jenny Stamos – Growing up Jenny

4. Michael – OutMaturity

5. Dennis Salvatier – The Tanoshiboy Chronicles

6. Maureen HunterEsdeer, Stepping Through Grief

7. MuMuGb – 40blogspot, The blog of a French Yummy Mummy in London.

For those I’ve recognised, as you know – there are rules. Only two:

One, say seven things about yourself. Two, share the award with seven other people.

No pressure though. I just thought it would be fun to learn more about you all!

20 thoughts on “Versatile Bloggers are Us!

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
    I am just so happy to be connected with such a great blogger!
    Good to know 7 more things about you! This has been such a wonderful post! I can’t stop smiling!

  2. Congratulations, Janine, this is an award you richly deserve! You write about everything and you always keep it real. You like red, vampires, and music to slit your wrists to. Sounds like a there’s a theme emerging here…

    I’m so honored that you would include me to pass this along to! Thank you so much! I know some of the others so I see I’m in good company and look forward to visiting the blogs that are new to me.

  3. Janine,

    I’m sorry for the loss of your Nan and know she is still there no matter what!

    I too love Vampire Diaries…loved how you two spaced the shows out! :O) My husband enjoys the show too, which surprises me because he usually doesn’t like that kind of stuff.

    Congratulations to you too.

  4. Congratulations Janine on your awesomeness and thank you so much for passing it my way…such a surprise. Ive got mine ready for next week woop woop.
    If you like vampires, what about True Blood, its awesome

  5. Janine, First, congratulations on the award. Well deserved. Thanks for sharing seven such personal things about yourself. Sorry to hear about your Nan. I know that losing someone close is like losing part of ourselves – of our lives. About being a redhead. I hope you realize how unique you are. What percentage of this world have red hair? Only a very small percent have that beautiful shade. Flaunt your hair and wear red and colors all you like. As for vampires, I used to love them, but now they’re all over the place, and I’m fed up with them.

  6. Pingback: The Highlight of My Day! « Reflections from a Red Head

  7. Pingback: And the final 5 are – A follow up from yesterday « Reflections from a Red Head

Leave a Reply

