A Sense of Calmness

Water side

There is something therapeutic about sitting by the water.

As I sit here by the river, I close my eyes and feel the breeze kissing my skin and playing with my hair. It feels as if it flows through my body, blowing away the cobwebs and the built-up tension, injecting my body with some much-needed oxygen.

As I watch the ripples as the breeze travels across the water, I am entranced by the light and shade created by the sunlight and shadows that hit the water. Combine this with the contrast of the clear blue sky and the jagged, jutting branches of the trees that stick out over the water, I marvel at the beauty of nature and take it all in.

I am pleasantly surprised by a bird that seems to materialise before my eyes out of the water. A sense of calmness washes over me.

The water-side – be it the beach, the river, a pond, or a pool – is my special place. It is the place I go to for stress-relief. Relaxation. To cope. And if I can’t get there in person, I go there in my mind.

What is your special place?

Do you have one?

If you don’t have one, think of a place that you have been to that brings about a sense of calmness. The next time you are feeling stressed, mad or upset, try and go there either in person, and just tune into the elements. If you can’t get there, try closing your eyes and visualising it. It is amazing what the power of visualisation can do – it’s almost as good as the real thing!

15 thoughts on “A Sense of Calmness

  1. Hi Janine,

    It’s interesting how nature can bring on those magical feelings. Whether it’s in the woods, or on the beach, just the thought of being there brings a smile to my face.

    When visualizing these places, focus on the senses. Feel your bare feet on the sand, and hear the birds above. Smell the air coming from the waves, etc.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Gregory

  2. I love the word pictures that you created for us.
    I had a wonderful Christian therapist when I was younger who taught me to visualize heaven (specifically the throne room) as a relaxation technique. I always use that as my visualization when I am starting to feel tensed, stressed, upset, etc. It has been such a blessing to me over the years. Thanks so much for sharing this post, Janine. God bless.

  3. Watching the sunset…sitting by the beach..I find it really peaceful…sometime back I was scared of water…and that’s why I never learnt how to swim but surprisingly now I find it really calming…a beautiful, beautiful post!

  4. I totally relate to this post, because my favorite place is on the beach, listening to the waves crash against the rocks. When I was going through a tough personal situation, I spent a week out in California and sat on the beach every day and each wave that crashed took away part of my sorrow, bit by bit, until it was unrecognizable. Thanks for this post. I feel that peace again now.

  5. I live by a lake and it has been such a restful, peaceful place to be. It soothed my soul after a very stressful period of time in my life. The birds and the water create a nature-filled oasis.

  6. Janine, What a lovely piece. Just reading it gave me a sense of the mystic powers of water – whether it be sea, lake, river, etc. to heal, calm, remove our inner turbulence, and restore our well-being.

Leave a Reply

