What are you grateful for this week?

I’ve already written a post titled ‘What are you grateful for right now?’ but I thought it was a good time to revisit that idea, as I think it’s really important to constantly remind yourself what you are grateful for in life. I find that in doing this every now and again, it can divert your thoughts away from the bills, stress, work, money – even if just for a few minutes – and into thoughts that are so much better for you mentally.

So, let’s give it a go. As this week comes to a close, what are YOU grateful for this week (and try not to think too hard about it)?

Us

  • I’m grateful for my loving partner. We are having a good week this week, and both seem so much less stressed at the moment. I want that feeling to last.
  • I’m thankful to have a new job. It may not be ideal, but at least I get paid, and it hasn’t started frantically like I had anticipated.
  • I’m grateful that my dog has fully recovered from her operation. She’s like a new dog, with renewed vitality and a new-found ability to jump further and run harder. Pretty good for a Maltese-Shih-tzu named after an alcoholic beverage (Kahlua).
  • I’m grateful for the communities of bloggers I have connected with over the last 6 months. It has been and intense and amazing experience, and the people, the blogs and the support never ceases to amaze me.
  • Air conditioning. It was so incredibly hot yesterday I thought I was going to melt into a puddle like the Wicked Witch of the West. I must say though, when thinking about the arctic chills I experience at the office…I might take my appreciation for air conditioning back.
  • You. Thanks for reading. Thanks for supporting. Thanks for commenting. And thanks for coming back.
14 thoughts on “What are you grateful for this week?

  1. This is such a great, true to the heart post! I am grateful for a new job….finally something that pays me well, though I don’t like it much. And also for the support that I get through blogging. It has given me great self confidence and a feeling of satisfaction and being connected to people who have been truly helpful!

  2. LOVE this post! You are so right, we should be grateful for so many things in our lives that are going “right” and not just dwelling on those things, not going as well!

    Super post, made me stop and think!

    All the best!

    Michael
    CCO OutMaturity

  3. What an important reminder! Off the top of my head… I’m grateful for our new kitty who joined the family today (!!!), hot water bottles to keep me warm because no one has central heating in the Peruvian Andes, that I can work cozily from home in my PJs and for blistex lip balm. =)

    P.S. Your contentedness shines in that photo, Janine! =)

      • Not so much colder than Vancouver, Canada actually! It only hits 5-10 degrees in the evenings, which wouldn’t be so bad if I had a heater. =P

        Will post pics of the new kitty soon! We’ve dubbed him “Fenix” (Spanish for “Phoenix”). =)

  4. This is a wonderful post! I think we all need to pay more attention to the things that go right in our lives on a daily basis. This is just what I needed today! Like you I am also grateful to the blogging community, it has opened up a world that I didn’t even know existed, full of wonderful people who are willing to share their journeys with the world.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog…I will certainly be checking in with yours 🙂

  5. Gratitude…so powerful! Even reading about someone else’s reasons for being grateful can make me feel better and more inspired.
    This week I am feeling grateful for
    -having 10 people sign up and come to my first big workshop!
    -all I learned from the discussion with others there (it was amazing!)
    -the sun showing its lovely face for a few days
    -a close friend and who two new kittens
    -my dog who makes me laugh, makes me get up and move even on those yucky days and keeps my feet warm
    -the tiny deli I found that has really really good cheeses!

  6. Janine, So many things to be grateful for in my life. Most important, I think, apart from my kids, etc. is having a positive outlook on life. To be able to smile in the face of adversity. Things do get me down, I admit, but I always get up again and come back stronger than ever.

Leave a Reply

