That Light at the End of the Tunnel

OMG it’s like Christmas or the last day of school. I woke up so many times last night, had night sweats, and then woke up early with butterflies in my stomach and this feeling on excitement, anticipation and nervousness of what the day ahead will hold.

Then I sat there playing with the dog, and staring at my partner willing him to wake up, to only freak him out when he opened his eyes and saw me staring at him wide-eyed. I guess it was a kind of psycho moment…

Today is my last day in my job, that for those that know me personally has been – what can I say politely – ‘challenging’. To cut a long story short I finally summonsed the courage to resign, after finding a new job.

Which brings me to now. I can imagine this afternoon, walking out of those doors, the feeling of relief. The way I’m feeling now, I predict the following. I’m either going to cry my heart out tonight – not badly, just as a form of release I would imagine, or I’m going to collapse (my throat is already feeling funky so the inevitable release of stress in the form of illness, as my body tends to do, is probably on its way). But, I don’t mind, as I can finally see that light at the end of the tunnel, and I have never felt so relieved.

 

New Beginnings

7 thoughts on “That Light at the End of the Tunnel

    • Thanks so much for the support Martha : ) The whole community feel is great – I’ve never felt so connected to people (that’s probably really strange but there’s something about writing that just opens people up).

  1. Good for you Janine. Leaving a “challenging” job (I think we have all be there) and moving towards a better opportunity. Great that you found that other opportunity and I wish you all the best with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

