Kindness and wisdom

‘Kindness is more important than wisdom, and the recognition of this is the beginning of wisdom.’

Theodore Isaac Rubin

I stumbled upon the above quote in a book I was given at the end of last year, aptly titled ‘Be Happy – 170 Ways to Transform Your Day’ (Patrick Lindsay). I love it, as I believe that with more kindness in the world, it would be a much better place, there would be more tolerance and understanding, therefore more wisdom.

Every now and again – when I see the book sitting there on my dresser, I pick it up and randomly flick to a page. More often than not, the page it lands on, and the quotation, strikes me to the core, as it holds true for what has happened to me at that point.

It may be a coincidence, and it may be my brains way of interpreting the quote and making it relate to what I am going through, but it works for me by making me stop what I am doing and look at my life and the mood I am in at that moment in time.

10 thoughts on “Kindness and wisdom

  1. I kept a quotes book at a certain time of my life, where I could riffle the pages and come up with a consoling sentence that would get me through the day. I believe the words of wiser people can instruct, console and lighten the load.

  2. Isn’t it amazing how we now have to remind or encourage people to be kind? It’s sad how so many people are wrapped up in themselves and expect the worst of others, so they go about their day being irritable and easily annoyed over trivial things. Thank you for this post–more people need to be reminded! Have you heard of the book Be Nice or Else! by Winn Claybaugh? It’s a great book and he is an amazing speaker as well (got to attend one of his lectures last year). I recommend checking it out–you might enjoy that one, too!

    • Wow thank you. I’ll definitely check that out. Sounds right up my alley!
      I’ve checked out your blog. Motivated! I really need to take a page out of your book. My aim for this year is health and inner peace – so I need to get the ball rolling on the exercise and healthy eating front now I’ve found a new job.

  3. Completely agree with you that more kindness would make the world a better place for all of us.

    Have noticed by observing people all over the world that only strong people dare to be kind. Someone who has low selfesteem and/or is insecure seldom shows kindness. Unfortunately that limits the amount of kindness we see in the world.

Leave a Reply

