10 Random Things About Me

I admit it. I’m being lazy this week, rolling out the list posts! It’s because I want to post, but my brain and my fingers seem to not be communicating very well to each other to string together words and ideas. I promise I’ll get back into some ‘proper’ posting soon, but in the meantime, here’s 10 random things about me!

Sis & I in Paris

  1. I’m the oldest of 5. I have a brother who is 29, a sister who is 25, and a half-brother and sister – although I don’t like to refer to them as ‘half’. I think it makes it sound like they aren’t as special, so I choose to drop the reference to half. They are all my brothers and sisters, and I love them. And then there is my sister-in-law. Same deal – drop the ‘in-law’ – she’s my sister (she has red hair so she fits right in).
  2. My partner is Anglo-Indian, and introduced me to curry. I now love curry and eat it like I am Indian. My stomach comes from an English-Australian background, and grew up on a diet of meat and veg. For the last 5 years it has handled the curry eating exceptionally well, until now. It’s a sad state of affairs.
  3. My favourite place in the world is Paris. I think it is the most magical, beautiful, romantic city in the world, and it entrances me every time I go there.
  4. I never wanted to live in Australia, until now. I have spent most of my life trying to escape, to suddenly find that I am at home where I live. Interesting epiphany.
  5. Now, no matter what anyone tells you, us Aussies don’t generally grow up with pet kangaroos. The exception to the rule being my family. We had a pet kangaroo when I was little. Seriously. We had her from when she was a joey, as her mum had died. Unfortunately she grew really fast and we had to move her to our grandparents farm so she could live out her life there.
  6. I LOVE salt and vinegar crisps. I’ve told my partner time and time again to not buy them, as if I find them in the cupboard, I will be forced to eat them. The thought of them makes me salivate. I can’t control myself. I also have a weakness for hot chips. That salad I had for lunch is really paling into comparison now…
  7. I still have almost all of the stuffed toys from my childhood. I will never throw them out. At the moment, they are banished to a storage box, the wardrobe and the ‘back room’ – but they will be free again one day. Oh yes they will…
  8. My favourite movie is the french film ‘Amelie‘. This movie never fails to cheer me up. I love the quirkiness of the characters, and the way that it is shot to appeal to all of your senses. It is such a beautiful film which I believe captures the innocence and beauty of people and life.
  9. I will always be a rock chick, even though I have mellowed in my old age, now choose to listen to pop and dance music, and am with a guy who loves R’n’B. I will always cherish experiencing Metallica live in concert with my brother, especially in the days of the ‘Black’ album and the snake pit, and I still love to secretly rock out to Guitar Hero.
  10. I used to be a gym junkie, so much so that if I didn’t work out, I would feel really out-of-sorts. In order to break myself of this addiction, I went cold turkey. I’ve now been cold turkey for about 13 months. It may be about time I got back into something again as I’m feeling slightly lumpy…
6 thoughts on “10 Random Things About Me

  1. Janine, what a great idea. You just gave me one actually. So thanks. We have a lot in common in one way or another. We didn’t have a kangaroo growing up but my mother told me that she had a pet deer growing up. They named her Bambina. I also enjoy metallica, rock will never leave this heart. And I also have half brothers and sisters who I am trying to get closer too now that my dad has passed. I wish I was a gym junkie, I would have reached my goal by now, but still I trek myself to the gym as often as I can. Great to learn so much about you. I’ll have to try this myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

