What advise would you give your teenage self?

Teenage Me - Digging the stockings, shorts, socks and sneakers!

I must admit I was a pretty sad teenager! I didn’t know how to dress, I had no clue about hair, I had bad skin and no confidence, I worried too much about what my friends and boys thought, I truly believed that I was fat, and I was as quiet as a mouse! I wasn’t exactly a nerd…I was a square type of bogan who always had her nose stuck in a book and dreamed of being popular and dating the high school ‘bad boy’.

If I could give myself advise, it would be (and apologies in advance to my male audience as these are largely female related):

  • There’s plenty of time for boys;
  • You are NOT FAT and you ARE NOT UGLY!
  • Don’t believe your Year 7 career councillor who says you aren’t smart enough;
  • Getting that monthly ‘woman thing’ does not mean you are dying;
  • Don’t smoke and drink because your friends or the boy you likes do;
  • Believe in yourself!
  • Use a hair dryer on your fringe…it really helps!
  • Listen to people when they tell you to service your car and put water in it (Oops!);
  • Pursue your writing, and stop making excuses;
  • Travel, travel and travel – I know you will, but you can do more (and don’t let boys get in the way);
  • Be nicer to your brother and sister; and
  • There’s plenty of time for boys (I know – that’s a double up – but it’s a really important point to make my teenage self!).

What advise would you give your teenage self (and I’m posing this question to the men out there too)? Just keep it clean!

16 thoughts on “What advise would you give your teenage self?

  1. I has a bad teenage time too! I always had a book in hand….read around 3 books a month. I was way too clumsy and people kept telling me that I should take up journalism but I didn’t(unfortunately). My advise to my teenage self would be: It is not the end of life if you aren’t brilliant at maths, no judging yourself, its okay to be wearing glasses.

    Lovely post…put a big smile on my face!

  2. I’d tell my teenage self that the adults were always right about everything whether I wanted to admit it or not. Being rebellious isn’t really that smart.

  3. I’d tell my teenage self that your parents are always right, don’t listen to those silly voices that tell you that are not beautiful and to always smile.

  4. What I would say is enjoy each day as an adventure and listen to your parents when they are encouraging you. I always knew I had support and that gave confidence and belief in what I could achieve.

  5. Ahh…what a time that was, being a teenager! Since I married just out of high school, I would say to teenage me “SLOW DOWN! Figure out who you are before sharing your daily life with someone. Be respectful of people who love you, it takes years to undo the damage. Cherish good friends, but listen to your inner voice when it’s telling you they’re leading you astray.” Okay, I think that’s the big list, that and “If you start coloring your hair at age 16, it will look awful by the time you’re 40!” Thanks for letting us share.

  6. Janine,

    This is such a great posting and though you say its written for women pretty much, I do believe that men can relate to some of it too! We are far too often unfair to ourselves and much too hard on our own psyche!

    Really great post, keep up all your great work. We all enjoy it!

    Michael
    OutMaturity

  7. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

