I’m back in black

‘I’m back…yes I’m back in black.’ Queue guitar riff.

Aptly dressed all in black, AC/DC pelting out of the car stereo – about to embark on the last leg of the 7 hour journey to Kalgoorlie – the mammoth 188 kilometer or more stretch between Southern Cross and Coolgardie, with nothing much more than road, red dirt, scrub and road trains.

I lose track of how many times we did that journey when I was little. I do remember that it was always at that point of the journey that us kids would almost go bonkers…‘Are we there yet?’, ‘When is it going to end?’, ‘I’m Bored’, ‘I need to go to the toilet.’ Such a charming bunch we were to travel with.

It’s weird doing the same journey, now as an adult.  Back then it was one woman, 3 dogs, 3 kids, one car, and 596 kilometers of road. Today – it was Denis, our dog Kahlua, me, my car, and 596 kilometers of road.

Technology has assisted with making the journey more pleasurable. The walk-man and the car tape deck have thankfully made way to the i-Phone – with so many 1000’s of songs to meet both of our tastes, which differ a lot – and the ability to pump it through the car stereo. And driving there in my 2007 Mazda – with functional air conditioning – was luxurious.

Surprisingly, Kahlua survived her first road trip with flying colours.  At the age of 9 1/2, I had expected her to be grumpy as hell. Dad had pre-warned me about the tendency for dogs to vomit on long trips. I didn’t remember that, but I did remember the flatulence – three dogs sealed in a car releasing potent gases…not good! Lucky for us Kahlua gave it a good shot within the first hour.  I can’t believe something that bad came out of such a small dog!

Anyway, she was like a new dog, with the inner puppy making an appearance along the way. What I think did it for her was the fact that she got to spend seven solid hours with her folks, together in one of her favorite places – the car, sharing new experiences.

Denis and I survived pretty well also. It was actually really enjoyable, there were no arguments, we had fun, and most of all I got to share some of my old memories with the two important beings in my life – my baby dog and my man.  Should do this more often!

2 thoughts on “I’m back in black

  1. I love the long road trip. It is like meditation to me. Have to admit the Ipod does help. When I traveled with two cats it was howling for the first hour, a most pitiful sound. That was followed by the upchucking. Well we love them anyway.

    diane

    ps: cute doggie

Leave a Reply

