The Art of Present Wrapping

Yesterday I sat there and watched as my partner commenced wrapping all the christmas presents we had brought so far.  I’d never realised it was such an art form, but he really puts my present wrapping to shame!

Denis’ rules for wrapping presents:

  • Measure the paper you need by using the present to measure it;
  • Fold and crease the paper where you are going to cut it;
  • Cut the wrapping paper with a knife – no scissors in sight;
  • There is a 3 piece sticky tape rule (this is not strict, but he is silently impressed with himself when he pulls it off!);
  • Finishing off the wrapping is all in the art of the paper folds at either ends – this really reminds me of origami.

The result is that he can wrap the strangest shaped present with style and finesse, people comment on the wrapping (i.e. my Mum) – and how perfect it is, and with all of these ‘rules’ he gets the job down quicker than I ever would, with less wastage (paper and tape).

Note: I tried wrapping a present today, as I can’t really get him to wrap his own presents.   One must ensure they use a sharp knife – otherwise the result is torn paper.  And I must admit this works (once you swap to a sharp knife), as I stupidly started with scissors, and one side of the paper is not too straight, then swapping to a blunt knife – tearing the paper, ending up with a sharp knife and a lovely precision cut on the other side of the paper!  Oh – and I managed the 3 piece sticky tape rule. WOOH!

8 thoughts on “The Art of Present Wrapping

  1. I have never seen the point of spending extra time to wrap a present that will be unwrapped in seconds. Since he is so good a wrapping I would never learn how to wrap. He would always have the job. gift bags would work for his gift.
    My grandfather would unwrap gifts with a small pocket knife and carefully remove the paper. He would then use the paper for the next year.

  2. I laughed out loud at this post! My husband of 18 years has become the sole gift wrapper in our home. My presents always turn out looking like a little child wadded paper around the gift. He tried to show me how it’s done, but I failed miserably (his method is quite similar to your partner’s.) I just told myself I’m creative in other areas and threw in the tape!

  3. Haha. I have to admit, I’m pretty bad at wrapping. I just don’t have the patience for it and just want to get it done. It’s so funny because I’m such a perfectionist. I realized these last few years that I choose my perfections. But I can see myself referring back to your post when no one is looking for some expert advice from the other Denis. So thank him for me. 🙂

  4. You mean I am not the only one who is bad at wrapping presents? In our house we have been using the Sunday comics to wrap presents for years. It is there every week and is pretty forgiving if you tear it etc. May be Denis should write a book for the rest of us.

    • Hehe I’ll have to suggest that. I’m pretty sure he can add some other things in there that I have been educated on like ‘how to peel and cut an onion’, or my favourite (not) – how to iron (that was early in our relationship when I became miffed that the way I had been ironing for years was apparently wrong hmmmm). It’s all done with good sense of humour at least!

Leave a Reply

