Experiencing the World

Through opening up and experiencing the world and the people who inhabit it, we then start to truly understand others, and they understand us.  This breeds tolerance and embodies the true essence of what we call ‘multiculturalism’.

I don’t believe that we should see people first by colour, race, gender, religion, nationality, etc.  We should first see them as a person.

This is something that is close to my heart.  Growing up in a country mining town, I was surrounded by racism, sexism and bigotry.  It would have been easy for me to have adopted this way of ‘thinking’, but I didn’t.  I am blessed to have met some of the most amazing, most beautiful, open-minded people, from all corners of the Earth, who have shared their cultures, their thoughts, their food, their clothes, their friends, their families and their stories with me.  My life is so much richer for it.

I encourage all to do the same as we live in such an amazing world!

15 thoughts on “Experiencing the World

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Experiencing the World « Reflections from a Red Head -- Topsy.com

  2. Labels tend to separate us. Labels are good for things but not for people. If we decided not to label people, we might do as you suggest, see each other as people.

    It sounds like you have a story to tell if you were able to avoid a community that did what you have decided can be harmful and unhealthy.

    Thanks Janine.

  3. A dear friend of mine said to me once, “You need to realize you’re valuable simply because you’re breathing.” Too often we humans believe human value is determined by extraneous factors. When we make this mistake we miss out on so much that is beautiful.

  4. Beautiful sentiment – wish everyone shared it. There is only one category of people I DO discriminate against – and that is those who are arrogant! In my opinion, it doesn’t matter how many qualifying initials one has after their name, what color they are, what color they are not, what their religion is, how tall they are, how rich they are…… they are not better than someone else. I judge people by what is in their heart and soul and if it is beautiful – then they are too.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. I agree with the others and this is a great post. Too often we judge when in reality we do not like others judging us.

    I think “how would I feel” if the situations were reversed.

  6. And you never know how this open mindedness or closed mindedness can than affect and shape others. Such as your open mindedness did for me.

Leave a Reply

