It’s the small things that count

It’s easy to get caught up in the fast lane – work, study, starting your own business, email, facebook, twitter, linkedin, text, kids, partners, family, friends – oh and don’t forget to exercise, eating, sleeping – and other people’s perceptions…It’s also easy to go with the flow and take all of the opportunities on offer, whatever comes to hand. There is so much to do in this world we live in, so much to experience, so many people to help. How can we possibly fit it all in?

We cant. We’re all human. Everyone has a limit.

But do you know what – it doesn’t matter. We can all make a difference, no matter how ‘small’ that is.

I look at it this way – How do you feel when you are walking down the street and someone smiles at you, possibly says hello, instead of looking at their feet, at the sky, at their watch, or through you? I feel good. It makes me feel like I’m not just going through the motions, one of the nameless masses going through my day to day business, seperate from everyone else around me.

I think everyone can make a difference, even if it’s just by smiling at someone as they walk down the street. I’ve been trying this out lately, more and more, and it FEELS good. Sure, I may get some weird looks…there’s that crazy lady again smiling for no reason – and yes, it is generally the older people who are more receptive. But there is just something about seeing someone like my Nan smiling back at me, or the Big Issue lady at the train station in the morning with that sparkle in her eye…

15 thoughts on “It’s the small things that count

  1. I aggree wit you, it’s nice if everyone would smile each other and talk more than we do at this moment. people are very superficial in this period,many people collect numbers of friends but don’t know anyone well. It’s a nonsense for me! especially young people are superficial and careless, I don’t know why they are in this way. There is too much information today but there is no real exchange of thoughts and emotions. Everyone ask for attention but all people seem blind and deaf. Sometimes a little freindly gesture would be a big surprise but there are few people who do that.

    • Hi! I completely agree. I like to think if us like minded people stick together and continue to stay true to ourselves, whether it be smiling, hugging, talking, not walking around everywhere with IPOD headphones plugged into our ears (this is bad where I live – what about where you live?) then we could make a difference.

      By the way – I love the look of your blog site! It is gorgeous. I can’t read it, but I’ll work on trying to translate some of the posts on the weekend.

    • Yep – as you never know when you might loose it. My Nan passed away earlier this year but I’m grateful for savouring those special times and the memories of her smiles : )

  2. Hi Beautiful,

    In Islam, smiling to another person, weather you know them or not, is an act of charity, an action that is considered a good deed to oneself and to person that you are “giving” the smile too! The Quran describes that some people will become like as if they are “deaf and blind”, beacuse they are soo busy with the fleeting pace of life, that they dont “feel”. The heart needs time for reflection, for peace, for pondering the world we live in.

  3. Great point Janine! I also find that a big smile breaks down the barriers whether 2 people know eachother or not, and often helps to reduce any preconceived thoughts we have about people (whether it be due to race, natinality, faith etc.) Smile away I say! :))))))

  4. This is so true! I know myself, I always feel so fantastic when someone just smiles or acknowledges me on the street. Even if I am having the worse day, it changes it for the rest of the day!

    Thanks so much for sharing and reminding us, it is the small things in life that count!

    All the best!

    Michael
    OutMaturity.com

  5. If you’re crazy by walking around smiling at people, than I’m crazy too. It’s a simple way to bring a little joy to the world. Those simple acts of kindness may brighten someone’s day when they need it the most.

Leave a Reply

